Posted by: suzannetakesyouup | May 17, 2010

Enough of the metaphorical mountains already

If I can liken the inside of my head to Dartmoor, and I think I can, there is many a DANGER AREA to be avoided and lowlands of bad memories and bad habits that I’ve been climbing hard mountains away from. What I want to do now is to hike up to real heights.

Among the inspirations for moving on to material mountains is an accomplished adventurer and friend, Paul Kaye, who has the ambition to climb the highest peaks in Europe and recently reached his 8th (in no particular order), Sněžka, in the Czech Republic (1602m). His idea appeals to my enthusiasm to taste more of Europe and to regain fitness. And each part of the challenge, every mountain, can be done in weekends which, not having the freedom of Sandy Denny’s Jan the gypsy, suits me well.

I am also influenced by the film Julie and Julia. It’s based on the true story of a woman who writes a blog about making all 524 recipes in Julia Child’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” in one year. I quite enjoyed the film but what I really loved was the idea of having a very specific list of challenges and sharing them online. I haven’t yet decided on any time scale for what I want to do.

Mostly though I am inspired by the need to focus more energy on things which keep me away from the bogs and mires that could threaten my ascent. I feel that organizing, going on and sharing adventures will help.

My first mountain climbs will be close to home and big enough to strengthen my Chiltern hill grade legs but not too big to make a mess of them-  Scafell Pike in England (978m), Ben Nevis in Scotland (1344m) and Carrauntoohil in Ireland (1038 metres). Before those though, I’ll do some hill walks even closer to home.

Responses

  1. I’ll live vicariously through your mountain climbing… I’m content to just hike around a bit below the timber line.

  2. Why not Snowdon in Wales?


Leave a Reply

Categories

